The City Secretary is the election official for the City and oversees the administration of City elections to ensure compliance with all city, state and federal election laws and policies and to ensure that city elections are conducted in a fair and impartial manner.

The City contracts with the Dallas County and Kaufman County Elections Departments to conduct joint elections along with other entities. Participating in joint elections enables the City to reduce election expenses and is more convenient for voters who can visit one location to vote on all issues including municipal candidates and school board trustees.

City elections for Mayor and Councilmember Places 1 – 6 are held in November of odd-numbered years. The Mayor is elected, by majority vote, by all qualified voters in the City. Councilmembers representing Places 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 are elected, by majority vote, by qualified voters residing in their respective districts. 

The current Mayor and City Council are as follows: 

Mayor – Stan Pickett
Place 1 – Robert Miklos
Place 2 – Jeff Casper
Place 3 – Bruce Archer
Place 4 – Dan Aleman
Place 5 – Greg Noschese
Place 6 – Tandy Boroughs

​November 5, 2019, General Election

The annual municipal election is scheduled for Tuesday, November 5, 2019, to elect the Mayor and Councilmembers for Places 1 - 6.

​2019 City Council Candidates


Bruce Archer
*Stan Pickett

​City Council, Place 1

Sherry Wisdom
Jenny Martinez
David Burris

​City Council, Place 2

Kenny Green
Dorothy Patterson

​City Council, Place 3

*Robert Miklos
Noe Villarreal
Jennifer Vidler

​City Council, Place 4

*Tandy Boroughs
Bryan Odom

​City Council, Place 5

B. W. Smith
Henry Brown
Sergio Garcia

​City Council, Place 6

*Dan Aleman
Christina Sowells


City Council Candidate Packet

Notice of Deadline to File Applications for Place on the Ballot

Notice of Drawing for Place on Ballot

Resolution - Ordering General Election for November 5, 2019